Department of Music wins big at SMT!

November 8, 2017

Yale’s music faculty and alumni had a hand in all six publications recognized at this year’s awards ceremony at the Society for Music Theory’s (SMT) annual meeting in Arlington.

Professor Daniel Harrison was the winner of the Wallace Berry Award for his 2016 Oxford University Press book, Pieces of Tradition.

Vasili Byros, (Ph.D. 2009), won the Outstanding Publication Award (for a scholar at any stage) for his 2015 MTO article, “Prelude on a Partimento: Invention in the Compositional Pedagogy of the German States in the Time of J. S. Bach.”

Seth Monahan, (Ph.D. 2008), won the Emerging Scholar Award (Book) for his 2015 OUP book, Mahler’s Symphonic Sonatas.

Paul Sherrill, (B.A. Music 2009), shared the Emerging Scholar Award (Article) with Matthew Boyle for their article “Galant Recitative Schemas,” which appears in the Yale-based Journal of Music Theory and received its biennial Kraehenbuehl Prize.

Joe Straus (Ph.D. 1981) received a Citation of Special Merit on behalf of Carl Schachter for The Art of Tonal Analysis, a collection of lectures by Professor Schachter transcribed and edited by Professor Straus.

Straus, along with Jonathan Bernard (Ph.D. 1977) and John Roeder (Ph.D. 1984) were among the contributors to Analytical Essays on Music by Women Composers: Concert Music, 1960-2000 (OUP, 2016), edited by Laurel Parsons and Brenda Ravenscroft, which received the Outstanding Multi-Author Collection Award.